STATE OF CALIFORNIA

DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS

DIVISION OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION - MEDICAL
P.O. Box 71010

Oakland, CA 94612

(510) 286-3700 or (800) 794-6900

<date>

Fee Period: <start> - <end>

License Number: <license #>
<doctor’s name>
<address>

Dear Dr.<doctor's name>:

Pursuant to Labor Code § 139.2(n) and 8 Cal. Code Regs. § 18, the Administrative Director of the Division of
Workers’” Compensation requires all physicians appointed or reappointed as Qualified Medical Evaluators (QMES)
to pay an annual fee. The QME fee is non-refundable.

$250 FEE

QMEs who have conducted 25 or more comprehensive medical legal evaluations in the twelve months prior to
assessment of the fee. All evaluations performed as a Qualified Medical Evaluator or as an Agreed Medical
Evaluator must be counted for the purpose of fee assessment (8 Cal. Code Regs. 8§ 16, 17).

$125 FEE
QMEs who have conducted 11-24 comprehensive medical legal evaluations in the twelve months prior to

assessment of the fee. All evaluations performed as a Qualified Medical Evaluator or as an Agreed Medical
Evaluator must be counted for the purpose of fee assessment (8 Cal. Code Regs. §8 16, 17).

$110 FEE

QMEs who have conducted 0-10 comprehensive medical legal evaluations in the twelve months prior to
assessment of the fee. All evaluations performed as a Qualified Medical Evaluator or as an Agreed Medical
Evaluator must be counted for the purpose of fee assessment (8 Cal. Code Regs. 88 16, 17).

ADDITIONAL LOCATIONS

QMEs who perform evaluations at more than one medical office location are required to pay an additional $100
per location (8 Cal. Code Regs. § 17).

PRIMARY PRACTICE LOCATIONS

QMEs may designate only up to four (4) “primary practice” locations. A “primary practice” location is an
office at which the QME spends at least five (5) or more hours per week engaged in direct medical treatment.
QMEs appointed on the basis of AMEs performed or as qualified retired or faculty must perform the other
activity specified in section 1(x) of Title 8 of the California Code of Regulations (8 Cal. Code Regs. 88 1(x), 17).

Misrepresentation of the number of evaluations performed, of the “primary practice” locations or of the number
of additional locations shall constitute grounds for disciplinary proceedings (8 Cal. Code Regs. § 60).
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DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS
DIVISION OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION - MEDICAL UNIT

Location Fee Calculation Worksheet

<doctor's name>
License Number: <license #>

Street, City, State, Zip Code, Phone No.
Locations Designated as Primary Practice Locations* (maximum of 4 locations):

<location address and phone>
<location address and phone>

[]

Other OME Locations NOT Primary Practice Locations:

<location address and phone>
<location address and phone>

Enter total Number of ALL location boxes checked -->

THIS SECTION MUST BE COMPLETED BY THE PHYSICIAN.

$250 Primary fee for those physicians who have done 25 or more medical/ legal evaluations.
$125 Primary fee for those physicians who have done 11-24 medical/ legal evaluations.
$110 Primary fee for those physicians who have done 0-10 medical/ legal evaluations.

$100 Per additional locations (including both primary practice and non-primary practice)

| hereby declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing
designation of “primary practice” locations, the foregoing selection of a primary fee, and the foregoing
designation of the number of additional locations is true and correct.

Physician’s Signature: Date:

RETURN THIS FORM WITH YOUR CHECK PAYABLE TO:
Division of Workers’ Compensation - Medical Unit
OME PROCESSING
P.O. BOX 71010
OAKLAND, CA 94612

*“Primary Practice Location” means the physician spends at least five (5) or more hours per week at the location engaged in direct medical
treatment, or for AMEs or retired or faculty QMES in the other activity specified in section 1(x) of Title 8 of the California Code of
Regulations.
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